Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 07-07-2019, 03:57 PM

Default Vintage oil lamp question

I recently picked up a vintage hurricane oil lamp. I have no experience with them. I trimmed the wick added fresh oil and it lights perfectly . The problem is that I can't burn it for more than 5 minutes in the house without it Stinking up the place and burning my eyes. The flame burns clean, no black smoke. I have tried various brands and types of oil and even kerosene and the same thing happens. Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong? I would like to be able to use the lamp like they did in the old days.
Thanks for the help.
Old 07-07-2019, 04:03 PM

Quote:
I would like to be able to use the lamp like they did in the old days.
maybe it stunk up the house back than also.could be as life progressed it was no longer needed

but then again i am not that old GOOD LUCK IN YOU QUEST
Old 07-07-2019, 05:15 PM

You are . Now you just need an old coal stove to go with it.

Grizz
Old 07-07-2019, 05:28 PM

What kind of lamp? some use a mantle like on the camping type lanterns Aladdin ( not the genie type) and Rayo and few others use mantles if you light them without one they burn hot and give off fumes
Old 07-07-2019, 06:36 PM

It has about a 3/4" flat cotton wick. I trimmed it and it has a nice flame.
Old 07-07-2019, 08:00 PM

You just reminded me exactly why I have not lit the old family lamp for 7 years. Wife gets asthma attack within an half hour
Old 07-07-2019, 08:53 PM

Might?? be the wick?some are cheap and may burn stinky...My lamps have the wick with the red line in them still smell but not to the extant your saying.
- older 6x fixed scopes with fine X or target dot.
Old 07-07-2019, 10:49 PM

They just stink. Welcome to the ‘good ‘ol days’. I once milked cows by the light of one of those things. Yeah, I’m old.