Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 09-30-2013, 11:39 PM

Default Anti-Hunters at Frank Lake

I have been hunting for 29 years and until this actually happened to me, i wouldn't have believed it.On sunday I took a friend out to Frank Lake to hunt ducks,when we got to where I had originally wanted to set up, somebody was kitesurfing, not wanting to disrupt another persons enjoyment of the lake, we decided to set up somewhere else. After setting the decoys up and making sure no one was around we settled into our blind. A few minutes later 3 individuals with binoculars and cameras showed up, they were standing directly behind us no more than a ten feet away. They were making direct eye contact with us and could clearly see we were in fact hunting. We were in camo, decoys in the water and loaded shotguns in our hands. They knew we were hunting and kept giving us dirty looks. My hunting partner told me to keep my cool and they would go away. They didn't. This went on for about fifteen minutes until 2 more bird watchers showed up and now we had 5 of them breathing down our necks, knowingly and willfully interrupting our hunt. We didn't say a thing, knowing that the situation could rapidly deteriorate, we shut our mouths and waited for them to leave, this whole situation lasted around 30 minutes. Now please understand that we were no where near the permanent blind at the end of the road,and were actually halfway between the permanent blind and the power line which is probably 1/3 of a kilometre away.

We confirmed they were long gone and thought the worst was over. a few minutes later a bluebill dropped in, I shot and went out to retrieve it. As I was trying to get the duck I could hear someone yelling at me, but had to remove my earplugs to hear what they were saying, it was an older man about 40 feet away.

"YOU CAN"T HUNT HERE, THIS IS A BIRD SANCTUARY!" he yelled at me
"NO IT'S NOT,YOU'RE WRONG, CALL A GAME WARDEN" i responded