Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 05-11-2010, 10:08 PM

Exclamation 22 Hornet Question

I was out tonight and took a few shots with my .22 Hornet. The guy I bought the gun from gave me some of his hand loads when I bought the gun. I fired four off and got looking at the casings. Two are severly cracked. What was this caused by? I know pressure but could improper seating do it as well? I am new to reloading and I don't want to have this happen again when I start mixing up my own recipes.

Heres a picture to show the damage.

22 Hornet Cracked Casings - Small.jpg

Any thoughts would be great,
Joe
Old 05-11-2010, 10:31 PM

Could be the cases had been resized too many times,as well if the shoulder is set back too many times when resizeing this can cause your brass to stretch thus weakening it. This weakened brass can then split.
Do you see any other signs of excess pressur,blown primers,primers pierced that sort of thing?

Ian
Old 05-11-2010, 10:42 PM

I would discard the brass you have that looks like it may be old or if you wonder about it
The Hornet is supposedley hard on brass.

Also Lil gun powder from Hodgdon is magic in the hornet.
It supposedley will make your brass last longer too.
Old 05-11-2010, 11:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rottie View Post
Could be the cases had been resized too many times,as well if the shoulder is set back too many times when resizeing this can cause your brass to stretch thus weakening it. This weakened brass can then split.
Do you see any other signs of excess pressur,blown primers,primers pierced that sort of thing?

Ian
No other signs of excessive pressure.
Old 05-11-2010, 11:08 PM