Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 09-20-2013, 01:17 PM

Default Hair/fur Request

I am posting to make a request for fur/hair samples.

I am a PhD student at the University of Calgary. My research is integrating two study areas of caribou ranges in Alberta and Manitoba to test if industrial development (hydro-electric, oil and gas, forestry) and predation play a role in caribou decline. Specifically, test if the overlap in diet between wolves (and/or bears) on caribou is higher in areas with increased industrial development.
In order to answer my research question I require fur/hair samples from species from both Northern Manitoba and West-Central Alberta (i.e. in areas with forestry, oil and gas, hydroelectric activities present). I will be tracing the stable isotopes markers (C, N, and S) within the hair through a basic food web to describe the diet profile and overlap. Then evaluate the food web data with geospatial information to test if: in areas with increased development predators show increased overlap in diet with caribou.

For the Province of Alberta I require hair/fur samples from the following animals (if possible): grizzly bear, black bear, wolf, moose, caribou, elk, white-tailed deer, mule deer, big horn sheep, mountain goat, marmot, rabbit and beaver
From the following AB WMUs: 344,352,353,355-357,440-442,444-446

And even though this is the Alberta Ourdoorsman Forum, I am aware there are members from Manitoba and thus for the Province of Manitoba I require the following: black bear, wolf, moose, caribou, white-tailed deer, rabbit and beaver
From the following caribou ranges: the Kississing, Naosap, North Interlake, Reed, The Bog, Wapisu, William Lake and Wabowden. (I can forward a map of these locations)