Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 05-15-2021, 06:49 PM

Default Fly Tying Advice

Hello,

I got a tying vice kit, a bunch of materials, and a bunch of hooks for my birthday this year for my birthday. The associate from Cabela'a assisted my wife in picking out all of the materials to tie a green wooly bugger, so that's what I'll start with.

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to fly fishing, let alone fly tying, so I'm here for your advice!

What are your favourite trout flies to tie? I love fishing dries since I don't know how to efficiently fish nymphs and wet flies, so that will be apart of my learning curve in the coming months and years.

Thanks for any tips! I've already done some looking at the step-by-step posts people have posted. I'll be sure to contribute to those threads as I become more proficient.

Tight Lines!

Jeff
Old 05-15-2021, 08:02 PM
Banned

Adams, Prince Nymphs, Zug Bugs, BWO's, Elk Hair Caddis, Brassies (copper or red), red and white candy canes, mosquito's, etc. They will all catch trout in Alberta.

And welcome to the addiction. I have been tying for less than a year and I think I already have more money invested in tying than I do reloading. I don't mind though, it's a good way of passing the time, especially on those colder days when you aren't motivated to leave the house. Just make sure you keep a good supply of hooks and beads to satisfy those days.
Old 05-15-2021, 08:10 PM

Default Welcome Jeff

O.K. this is advice form a self taught fly fisherman, with over 60 years experience.
If you can get some one to teach you how to fish nymphs you will be a very successful fisherman. If you like to fish dry flys, you are like most of us.
Alberta has some great (famous) dry fly hatches and you'll soon know about lots of them, You can always find caddis fly hatches, and now and again grasshoppers being blown on to a stream. The later produces legendary dry fly experiences.