Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 06-02-2017, 11:03 AM

Default Bamboo rod building kits and blanks

Howdy,

After fiddling around with replacing guides on a couple of rods and repairing a couple of cheap bamboo rods (purchased off ebay) so they are fishable, I find myself intrigued by the idea of trying my hand at rod building.

I need another hobby like a hole in the head but.........there are worse ways to spend money and time.

I have very little knowledge in the area besides what I've read and a few tidbits of information regarding suppliers and epoxy techniques for guide replacement that Don Andersen was kind enough to answer over the phone a couple years ago.

There is a wealth of knowledge on the interweb that I've just stared to really dig into but was wondering if any rod builders out there might answer a few questions.

First off have any builders out there purchased kits or blanks from Angler's Roost?

If so, what is the quality like?

They have a couple of bamboo rod kits I'm interested in. The price seems reasonable ( $150 US + shipping) and a kit seems like a good place to start rather that learning every aspect of building that could take years and years to figure out before I build something that might be fishable.

Any advice or information regarding bamboo blank suppliers or bamboo kits would be appreciated.

For now, I've got a few chironimid patterns fresh off the bench and I'm going fishin!

Have a great weekend.
Stan
Old 06-02-2017, 04:54 PM

Not such much specifically bamboo, but check out Proof Fly Fishing for rod building supplies. Matt is a great guy, helpful, and tries to minimize costs to you.
Old 06-05-2017, 07:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason.seaward View Post
Not such much specifically bamboo, but check out Proof Fly Fishing for rod building supplies. Matt is a great guy, helpful, and tries to minimize costs to you.
Thanx for the feedback. I'll check them out.