Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 08-18-2013, 08:51 AM

Question Early fur trapping

I am very new to trapping been hunting for years but I have a question regarding early season trapping. I have a resident licence so I can trap on private land with permission. My question is when do beavers and raccoon get their winter coats? I do know coyotes bears wolves grow a winter coat. I am under the assumption that I can trap earlier than October if I am on private land. I am in zone 8. Any information would be helpful
Old 08-18-2013, 09:18 AM

Did you take a trapping course ?
Please refer to the information you learned there
Old 08-18-2013, 09:51 AM

No I did not take the course. My neighbours and I are having issues with beavers and raccoons I am looking to thin out the population.
Old 08-18-2013, 11:47 AM

In zone 8 the beaver season opens on Oct. 15, that should give you an idea
Old 08-18-2013, 12:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill9044 View Post
No I did not take the course. My neighbours and I are having issues with beavers and raccoons I am looking to thin out the population.
So how did you get a licence ?
Old 08-18-2013, 04:08 PM

He probably challenged the test, it's not hard.

Raccoons are not listed as a fur bearer on the reg's website so I assume you can trap problem coons no problem. As for the beavers, you should be able get a problem animal permit to trap them from the county, or the county will send out their own trapper to get them.
Old 08-18-2013, 06:20 PM
Gone Hunting

On page 18 of the 2013 trapping regulations pamphlet there is a section on pelt primeness.

It defines Primeness of Pelts as; Furs that are at their peak in quality.
It could also be described as the full development of a furbearers winter coat.