Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 02-21-2011, 07:11 AM

Default for you ice fishing vets

I took my son and his friend out ice fishing on Sunday, after I got all the holes drilled and started fishing there were these load booms sounded like someone shooting a big rifle by close to us and after every boom a crack formed in the ice about 2 to 3mm wide, where we were the ice was about 2.5 feet thick, but the boys were did not like it so we left. I am still new at ice fishing and this has never happened to me before so I was wondering if the ice is still safe when this happens, I thought there was nothing to worry about because the ice was so thick but it had been warm for the last couple of weeks and the last few days below -25. Thanks for any advice.
Old 02-21-2011, 07:18 AM

It did that to me 4 or 5 times yesterday, seem to only go down a few inches tho. Most of the loud noises are made when the ice freezes from the bottom, if its that thick should be no cause for concern, just palpitations I know I jumped pretty good and Im used to it now.

Shove your masks and your vaccines
Non Compliance!!!!!!
"According to Trudeau, Im an extremist who needs to be dealt with"
#Trudeau must go

Wheres The Funds

The vaccine was not brought in for COVID. COVID was brought in for the vaccine. Once you realize that, everything else makes sense.” ~ Dr. Reiner Fuellmich
Old 02-21-2011, 07:25 AM

When the ice is that thick (and it's not spring and rotten) you're totally fine. I do have to admit that some of that cracking and popping does give a guy the heebie-jeebies, especially when you can feel it under your feet!

Time, it makes you old. Experience makes you wise. It's only a fool who judges life by what he sees in other peoples' eyes.
- Strung Out

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.
- Douglas Adams
Old 02-21-2011, 09:06 AM