Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-19-2020, 06:46 PM

Default Build a Gun? or Buy a Gun

I have a Sako Finnlight 270WSM. I have been packing it around the mountains for close to 10 years. Its is getting pretty beat up.

Question is:
Do I build a gun using the Sako Action? So new light weight Stock and Carbon barrel.
OR
Do I sell the gun and just buy a Christensen Ridgeline Titanium?

Thanks
Old 11-19-2020, 06:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by emrich-55 View Post
I have a Sako Finnlight 270WSM. I have been packing it around the mountains for close to 10 years. Its is getting pretty beat up.

Question is:
Do I build a gun using the Sako Action? So new light weight Stock and Carbon barrel.
OR

Thanks
Only you can answer that question, if you like the Sako just rebarrel it, if you want something new, get the new one.
Cat
Old 11-19-2020, 06:52 PM
Banned

Quote:

Question is:
OR

Thanks
2 options for light weight carbon fiber stocks
1 is McMillan other is hi tec composites in New Zealand

Lots of barrel choices now

Bix and Andy make premo triggers for the Sakos
Or you can get a jard trigger

When it’s all said and done the sako will be lighter and probably shoot better than the Christensen
Old 11-19-2020, 06:53 PM

Quote:

Question is:
OR

Thanks
Hang on to that action and build a 270 WSM x 6.5 any way that suits.
Old 11-19-2020, 08:54 PM
Banned

if you're sticking with magnum bolt face then build on it, tough to beat sako action and bottom metal/magazine imo, if you can just barrel it to PRC well...that'd be what i'd do if i still had my wizzum

100% for sale if you're contemplating standard short action downsize...don't think twice, it's gotta go when its gotta go
Old 11-20-2020, 08:46 AM

I think you’d be better off giving your Sako a make over then to get a rifle off the shelf that people already have. Makes your rifle more personal and better in my eyes then one off the shelf.
Old 11-20-2020, 08:54 AM