Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 06-03-2013, 06:40 PM
Banned

Default Good .22lr round?

I just picked up a Stevens 300 in a 22lr. Any opinions on what I should be using through it? I know everyone has opinions on everything but I am very new to the whole fire arms thing.
Old 06-03-2013, 07:57 PM

Federal Champion 525 rd bulk packs for $22.99 at Cabela's is what I buy. There are tons of different manufacturers out there but these are cheap and it works for me.
Old 06-03-2013, 08:17 PM

Buy a box of everything you can get your hands on, shoot em and then use what groups best in your rifle.

Sorry but my crystal ball rolled off my desk on Friday, so I have no way of predicting what may shoot well in your rifle. Therefore back to basics!

There are no absolutes
Old 06-03-2013, 08:26 PM

I've had good luck with the Federal bulk pack already mentioned.
Old 06-03-2013, 09:41 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick284 View Post
Buy a box of everything you can get your hands on, shoot em and then use what groups best in your rifle.

Sorry but my crystal ball rolled off my desk on Friday, so I have no way of predicting what may shoot well in your rifle. Therefore back to basics!
I just thought that someone may have had some experience with this particular rifle. I picked up some American Eagle from Canadian Tire. Hopefully it will shoot well.

I'm in Calgary so Cabela's is out for Local but CT and Wholesale should be good.
Old 06-03-2013, 10:20 PM

Give CCI Blazer a "shot" as well. It is priced same as federal and I like it a lot better for my cooey 64b.
Old 06-03-2013, 10:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
I just thought that someone may have had some experience with this particular rifle. I picked up some American Eagle from Canadian Tire. Hopefully it will shoot well.
I'm in Calgary so Cabela's is out for Local but CT and Wholesale should be good.