Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 10-16-2014, 08:12 PM

Default Draw weight for moose

What would you guys recommend as a good draw weight for moose?? I currently draw 50lbs and and getting rather comfortable with it. Is it good enough or would it be recommended i go higher. The max i will be shooting is 40-50 yards.

Thanks
Old 10-16-2014, 08:25 PM

Question Hmmm

I'm no expert but I'd say try adding 5 pounds now and practice a bit, if good add 2 more pounds, then another 2 and so on . I'd suggest aiming for 60 pounds but being comfortable and consistent at 50 pounds is better than shakey at 60 pounds. Again I'm no expert but 50 yards at 50 pound draw seems to be pushing it. I'm sure a resident pro on here will steer you right. I currently shoot 60 pounds but limit myself to 40 yards on game...for now
Old 10-16-2014, 08:42 PM
Banned

Some may say go for it, I'd suggest a little more weight, or shorter distance. I like shooting a minimum of 385gr arrow, my arrows are in the 400gr-435gr range, and I'm drawing 74lbs. This is just what I'm shooting, and my opinion, not based on scientific facts, just my opinion. The last thing you want is a bull moose running around with an arrow stuck in a rib bone.
Old 10-16-2014, 09:41 PM

Default Draw weight

50 lbs recurve or longbow and 20 yards will kill anything we've got.
Old 10-16-2014, 10:10 PM

If you can hit the vitals , your 50lbs is enough. But like others have said, you should keep your shots under 30 yards. IMO.
Old 10-16-2014, 10:54 PM

A perfectly placed arrow, shot out of a perfectly tuned 50 lb bow, with a scary sharp cut on contact broadhead....MIGHT kill a moose at 40. But a moose rib is like a 2x4 and the shoulder blade is like armor. if you only get one lung you are in more trouble than you ever thought possible. Moose run for water when scared or wounded.