Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 04-19-2019, 08:45 AM

Default Any cast iron welders east of Edmonton??

Broke my lower control arm on my sXS and it’s cast...

Any one wanna give it a shot to weld it????

East of Edmonton best !

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 04-19-2019, 09:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pa_of_6 View Post

East of Edmonton best !

Is it Cast Iron or cast steel? I would be surprised if they used cast iron on a sxs. That said I personally would hesitate to weld a steering component on someone else's sxs. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and by the part.
Old 04-19-2019, 09:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleboy View Post
Is it Cast Iron or cast steel? I would be surprised if they used cast iron on a sxs. That said I personally would hesitate to weld a steering component on someone else's sxs. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and by the part.
^This^^

I am a welder. There are certain things I just won't touch for liability issues, and personal peace of mind. Steering components being one of them. Add chassis frames, and tire rims to that list of what I won't touch, that come up quite a bit. Just buy a new part.
Old 04-19-2019, 10:26 AM

New part on the way... but not here til end of next week

Cows are calving... need the sxs!!!

Weld will work til I get the new part!!

Cast steel... that should be able to be welded with 7018????

Old 04-19-2019, 10:36 AM

Quote:
New part on the way... but not here til end of next week

Cows are calving... need the sxs!!!

Weld will work til I get the new part!!

Cast steel... that should be able to be welded with 7018????