Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 03-20-2016, 02:27 PM

Smile Another "help me, I'm new!" thread

Hello!

This is going to sound VERY green and probably a little silly; I figure this is going to be the best place to look like a complete jack*** anyhow.

I’ll give you a little background to save some time. I have been shooting 3D archery for a few years on and off. I have recently moved to Central Alberta (Red Deer area) from Calgary, and in a few months I will likely be moving to far Southern Alberta (Medicine Hat area). I have zero friends that hunt, zero family members that hunt. Nobody I know really even enjoys hiking or camping (although you’d think otherwise from all the talk – it never seems to actually happen!) I am not interested in acquiring a gun license currently; I would prefer to stick to using my compound for hunting. I’d like to get into fishing eventually. I don't own a truck, or a quad, or a sled. Anything of that sort.

I have no desire to hunt any larger game. I mostly want to hunt and fish. I’d like to potentially head out backpacking and/or camping with my bow and my dog in tow. My dog eats a whole prey raw diet, and obviously I am a carnivore, this is possibly my main motivation for wanting to hunt in the first place. Small game only – rabbits, squirrels, little things.

I’m not sure where to start. I have done my homework and read up what I can, but I still feel fairly lost.

I have signed up for the AHEIA training program online (although not started), I have ordered all the Alberta hunting regulation manuals (although not arrived yet), and I think I have a fairly healthy amount of respect for what I intend to do and the land I want to do it on.