Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 05-25-2016, 12:32 AM

Red face Should I or Shouldn't I

I just recently purchased a bear Attitude bow, complete package from an acquaintance in near new condition, they informed me that it was a 60LB draw bow. Now I'm a newb at this, and have only shot it a hand full of times and really enjoy it, looking forward to hunting this year with it, but my dilemma is this, I checked the draw weight with a spring scale(specifically for bows) and it is maxed out at 50LBS.
Question is this....should I look at getting different limbs, say up to 70LBS.
This is my first bow and at this time feels very good, but I will get better and don't feel like getting the next best next year, and so on.
Any advise is appreciated.

Old 05-25-2016, 12:35 AM

Stop. Just shoot the bow. Dont get hung up on numbers and get practice.
Old 05-25-2016, 05:46 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.
Default Welcome

Shoot the bow lots, see if you like what is happening, go to a pro shop to have adjustments made and ask questions.
Good luck.
Hey it's a start!

Be careful when you follow the masses, sometimes the "M" is silent...
Old 05-25-2016, 06:59 AM

You will get accurate a lot faster at 50 pounds than st 70 pounds .
S 50 pound compound will shoot through anything that walks as long as you put the arrow where it is supposed to go!
Cat
Old 05-25-2016, 07:28 AM

I've got a stupid question, have you cranked your limbs to maximum? Perhaps it is a 60lb bow, and all that is required is for you to tighten your limb adjustment bolts. Just make sure you do it evenly.
Old 05-25-2016, 07:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by catnthehat View Post
You will get accurate a lot faster at 50 pounds than st 70 pounds .
S 50 pound compound will shoot through anything that walks as long as you put the arrow where it is supposed to go!
Cat
X2 fully agree...
Old 05-25-2016, 07:46 AM

Default 50 lbs