Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 05-18-2016, 10:42 PM

Default a couple questions on form/shoulder injury

I'm very new to this hobby and have been practicing on my compound for about a week now each day. When I first started I was worried about the draw weight so I bought a bow that was 60lb. I started out with it backed all the way out. After learning to use my back muscles, I really have no difficulty drawing it back or holding it there.

However I have been told that I should be comfortable holding my drawn bow for up to a minute if required. The difficult thing is not to hold the string back, but the weight of the bow on my forward arm and my shoulder. It really feels the burn after about 10 seconds or so to the point where I can't shoot for more than a dozen arrows before I need to take a break, and I really struggle to hold the bow steady.

Turning my elbow out and keeping my arm slightly bent makes it that much worse. I have an old left shoulder injury, dislocated a few times, and I wonder if this is normal and something I can train through. Or should I just switch to a LH bow. On the scale the bow weights 5.6lb which I'm not sure is heavy or light?
Old 05-19-2016, 05:40 AM

They do have carbon bows which are a little lighter by a pound or so. I would start working out with light weights. Work your front, middle, and rear delts.
Old 05-19-2016, 05:58 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.

Strength and conditioning of the whole body in conjunction with shooting regularly but not pushing it to the point of complete exhaustion and pain, this goes for all aspects of the training. Within a month you will notice a huge difference.
Rehab and shoot, things will improve with time, no quick fix here.

Be careful when you follow the masses, sometimes the "M" is silent...
Old 05-19-2016, 07:50 AM