Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 11-12-2008, 02:52 PM

Default hun hunting techniques

i am new to game bird hunting and have mainly been going to the pheasant release sites with my german shorthair but with the pheasant season closing this weekend i am going to attempt to go hunting for hungarians and grouse. when i attempted hunting huns last year i walked a field that i knew they were in and a covey flushed when they were way out of range and my dog wasn't even close to them and we could never find them again. do they land and then run?
Old 11-12-2008, 02:56 PM

Pheasant season in southern Alberta is open until Nov 30.
Old 11-12-2008, 04:25 PM

any advice on where to go in southern Alberta? I live in Airdrie and dont want to travel to far for a one day hunt. Is the pheasant population in the Brooks area strong enough that you can just drive down there and work the irrigation ditches or do you have to do alot of scouting. the only appeal to the pheasant release sites for me is that i can drive straight there in the morning and not have to spend all day scouting for good spots and then try to ask permission.
Old 11-12-2008, 04:32 PM

Gsp hunter as couleestalker said roosters are open until nov 30. For huns,find were they are and drive the gravel 1 hour before sunset you should run into a few coveys. Good luck
Old 11-12-2008, 05:33 PM

i am new to it as well..so by no means an expert....but yes i find that huns are usually more flighty than pheasants. and they will often take to the wing before your dog even gets to them. you just have to be ready.....
Old 11-12-2008, 07:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheClash View Post
i am new to it as well..so by no means an expert....but yes i find that huns are usually more flighty than pheasants. and they will often take to the wing before your dog even gets to them. you just have to be ready.....