Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-16-2019, 08:50 AM

Default Fishing from a Canoe in Southern Alberta - Pipe Dream?

Looking for a little bit of guidance regarding fishing from a canoe, particularly in windy Southern Alberta? First of all, is it more of a pain than anything? The only canoe fishing I've ever done is in a 20+ft freighter canoe with a 9.9 Merc in Northern Ontario. I'd be looking at something like a 15 footer without an engine.

Having never really canoed before, would a 15ft fiberglass canoe be something two people could easily carry? How do they handle on a river such as the SSR? Would a 15ft used Coleman do the trick?

Any help is much appreciated
Old 05-16-2019, 09:31 AM

Just have to pick days with little wind. Canoes arnt fun in the wind. Choose your days and waterbodies accordingly.
Old 05-16-2019, 09:48 AM

Saturn Kaboat or Kayak stable reasonable price and stable
Old 05-16-2019, 10:18 AM

Default I'm no expert, but....

I've done most of my fishing from a canoe - mostly solo, but a few trips with buddies. I'd offer a few thoughts for you to consider.

Get an anchor. This is really helpful, especially in the wind. Find somewhere to tie it off in the canoe - or install a cleat. You'll drift downwind a little, just enough to get the rope out of the way. It was a big help for me when I would be blown around.

Make sure you wear a life jacket. I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH. Canoes can be tippy - even if you have one that sits like a duck. Better safe than sorry.

Get used to fishing from the canoe in calm water. Don't just assume you can do it - get out in some calm water and get used to how the boat feels. It will respond to your every move, so it's better to get the feel right in perfect conditions than getting in over your head (maybe literally).