Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 05-09-2019, 02:15 PM

Default Rifle range around Calgary for non members

I am new to hunting and I would like to sight my 7mm Remi. I installed the scope from proline and they sighted it at 100 years. I would like to sight my gun at 240 yards.

Can you please please let me know within 2 hours radius which range I can go to sight my rifle? I am not planning to be a member and prefer to sight it in one day trip. I am willing to go as far as Brooks. I need to get ready for hunting season and this year I am going all out.

Thank you in advance for your tips and feedback.

Nafi
Old 05-09-2019, 02:27 PM

Why 240 yards? But Waiprious has a bunch of crown land with some make shift ranges there. Or see if you can meet someone who will take you out to CDTSA Milo. You won't be able to sight to 240 yards but you could at 200m or 300m
Old 05-09-2019, 05:36 PM

Drive to crown land, there will be zero ranges with targets set up at 240 yards and might be tuff to find a member of one of the ranges to let you in and burn a guest pass for a stranger when most ranges have guest pass limits and costs...
Old 05-09-2019, 05:53 PM

Find a suitable location of crown land, and head out there more than once to practice. After your rifle is confirmed impacting where your scope is aiming, practice shooting from likely hunting positions. Standing offhand, tree limb rest, backpack supported. See how consistent you are for field shooting. Build confidence in your ability to shoot.
Old 05-09-2019, 06:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nafiul15 View Post
I am new to hunting and I would like to sight my 7mm Remi. I installed the scope from proline and they sighted it at 100 years. I would like to sight my gun at 240 yards.