Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-18-2017, 12:38 PM
Banned

Default Boat launching tips and info?

Hi guys,

As some of you know I have bought my first boat.

It will also be my first time launching a boat and well I was wondering if anyone has some tried and true tips for an absolute newbie.

I have watched a few videos on YouTube, which have been great but gathering some more info couldn't hurt.

Also I have watched a few Epic Fail boat launches videos and I wonder how it is that some can sink their trucks the way they do.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZ1IrkzabIg

Is there a series of missteps one can make for this to happen,
or is it merely bad luck trying to get the boat on the water?

Thanks.
Old 05-18-2017, 12:47 PM

Make sure you put your drain plug in before you launch the boat.
Old 05-18-2017, 01:15 PM

Only bit of info I can offer is before you head down the launch, make sure everything is done so all you do at the launch is back down, other person starts the boat backs the boat off and you drive up, nothing more annoying than when the boat is on trailer in water then people start unpacking gear inflatables etc.
This should all be done at the staging area of the launch.
happy boating, and enjoy fishing spots you could never get to before.
Old 05-18-2017, 02:26 PM

Default Amen

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubba 96 View Post
Only bit of info I can offer is before you head down the launch, make sure everything is done so all you do at the launch is back down, other person starts the boat backs the boat off and you drive up, nothing more annoying than when the boat is on trailer in water then people start unpacking gear inflatables etc.
This should all be done at the staging area of the launch.
happy boating, and enjoy fishing spots you could never get to before.
Amen brother, Amen.