Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 11-20-2017, 11:16 PM

Default Butcher etiquette

I shot my first deer this year! It was just a little doe that I cut and wrapped in the garage myself. I have 12 pounds of trim left over that I am going to drop off at the local butcher shop. I want some spicy pepperoni, my daughter won't eat it though and wants something mild. My wife wants some ground meat. I'm already thinking that making pepperoni with just 12 pounds of trim is going to be a pain in the butt for the butcher, and I'm not really willing to split the order up, like into 6 pounds of spicy and 6 pounds of mild, or even worse, 4 pounds of spicy, 4 pounds of mild, and 4 pounds ground with some pork in it.

I've never done this before, had limited interactions with butchers, so I just thought I'd ask here and see what people think about what size orders are too small to ask of a butcher.

Thanks!
Old 11-20-2017, 11:24 PM
Banned

Some places want minimum 20 lbs of trim while others will do pepperoni with 10 pounds. I’m not sure if you’ll find anyone that’ll make pepperoni in 4 pound batches. I guess if you want to add 6 pounds of pork to 4 pounds of deer they’d do it. Expensive pepperoni though!

Happy wife = happy life.
Old 11-20-2017, 11:41 PM

^ agreed.
Old 11-20-2017, 11:44 PM

I think 10lb min. Is fairly common, personally for me it's a 5lb min. But much prefer at least 10. By leaving it in one bunch you'll make him happier.
Old 11-21-2017, 12:29 AM
Banned

Congrats on your first deer btw.

As an afterthought, you could always throw in some packs of stewing meat or steak to get your weight up.
Old 11-21-2017, 05:54 AM

Your best bet is to talk it over with your butcher.

Thomas Sowell
Old 11-21-2017, 05:55 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.