Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 03-10-2017, 10:45 AM

Default Father and Sons trip of a lifetime

Hi Everyone
I am brand new to this forum. I am actually a resident of Ontario and a solid member of many forums in the north and south. I am seeking a bit of help and feedback. My father, brothers and myself are embarking upon an Alberta road trip as we make our way North to the Yukon. We are avid anglers and outdoors men. Our family has had some very tough events in the past year so I am hoping to make this trip an experience to remember. Our trip begins in Edmonton. We will be travelling by pick-up and small trailer. We will also be bringing our spin cast, float and fly gear and have a canoe. We are in the process of securing licenses and park permits. We have also familiarized ourselves as best as possible with all regs., rules and dates. The trip starts July 4th and we are looking at 3 weeks in total start to finish. I am in no way asking for personal fishing hot spots (mine are sacred to me as well). I am looking for route suggestions and decent rivers or lakes worth stopping by to wet a line. Also any points of interest for hiking, paddling or viewing. Your help is greatly appreciated. I am a true conservationist at heart, and promise not to let my Ontario boots muddy up your western waters!
Old 03-10-2017, 11:02 AM

Welcome to the forum rufus. Sounds like you have a well planned out trip lined up. I wish you all the best. But its not an area I am familiar with, so I have no advice, good or bad. But in time I'm sure some knowledgeable people will chime in and assist you in your plans.
Enjoy your trip and post some pics for us.
Old 03-10-2017, 11:16 AM

The good news is, generally, the farther north you go the better the fishing experiences are. Less crowds too.

I haven't had the pleasure of going north like you're describing, but I'm sure it will be a great trip for you folks.
Old 03-10-2017, 12:19 PM