Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

View Poll Results: Sako 85 or Tikka T3
Sako 85 71 67.62%
Tikka T3 34 32.38%
Voters: 105. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-17-2008, 07:44 AM

Default Tikka vs Sako

Gents,

I'm new to the Alberta Outdoorsmen Community here. I've been reading a lot of good stuff on this website.

I'm going to purchase a new Hunting Rifle probably in the next few weeks.

I'm thinking of a Tikka T3 or a Sako 85. Either one in Stainless Laminte (GreyWolf)

My Question is, Is the Sako 85 worth the extra $600?
I'm the kind of guy who will most likely keep this rifle for life.
I've shot a Tikka several times and enjoyed it but have heard even better things about the sako.

I'm interested to hear what you all have to say!

Thanks,

Brú
Old 04-17-2008, 08:09 AM

i have a tikka 22-250 and love it every other tikka ive shot has been just as great, sako has a better action and magazine if you ask me but is it worth $600? thats one you will have to decide
Old 04-17-2008, 08:20 AM
Banned

you may not appreciate the extra build quality right away as most guys need to own a bunch of low grade shooters before they learn appreciation for the nicer built stuff......at least thats how it was for me.....as long as it shot i didn't care about the rest....but now its different and i much prefer the total package....accuracy AND nice build quality and higher attention to detail, materials, function etc.

so....if you can afford the sako then my vote is go for it....but even though i'm starting to really like the nicer stuff.....tikka is still pretty dang nice....i say its best bang for buck going....the sako adds luxury....but if you ask me the tikka is luxury over any savage or rem sps...tikka is a pretty great little gun and doesn't hurt as much to scratch it up etc....