Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 07-02-2020, 05:36 PM

Default Lawn Fertilizer

For all the landscaping experts.

Overall my lawn is looking pretty good. I did apply a spring fertilizer and was wondering what you guys use for summer as far as a rating goes? I do get a few weeds that creep through and would like my lawn to be that consistent dark green. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Old 07-02-2020, 06:16 PM

I apply Scott's in the spring and fall.
Old 07-02-2020, 06:43 PM

Use a high nitrogen fertilizer. Even something with micronutrients and controlled release
https://www.allistonbotanix.com/prod...et-fertilizer/

May need to irrigate in summer, overseed in spring and fall amd apply a herbicide like trillium? Or par 3 or fiesta - iron based to keep weeds out.

I have seen people now with these self propelled topdressers for applying composts etv as a more natural way.

Sent from my SM-A530W using Tapatalk
Old 07-02-2020, 07:38 PM

I am no expert but I do like working on my lawn. In the spring I go hard with Scott's and I use the 32-0-0. Then I add a bag about every 6 weeks. I find if its well fertilized, the weeds seem to get choked out. My sons hate me as they are cutting the grass way too quickly. In late September I use Scott's fall turf builder. It is 32-0-10. My understanding is it helps drive the roots down and aids in dormancy. The following spring once the dethatching and cutting takes place, it seems to green up quickly. I have not aerated in a few years as I rented a machine and found that I sure acquired a bunch of dew worms. I figured they came with the rental-not sure.
My two cents...
Old 07-02-2020, 09:03 PM