Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-27-2007, 04:30 PM
bears

Default bears

Hi Guys,
I am new to bear hunting and have a question. I am am planning on using oats, popcorn and some other sweet stuff. I just bought 2 barrells with the lids on. How big should I make the hole?

Also, what is everyones recomendations for wall tent size. 10x12? 12x14?
Could be anywhere from 2 to 4 guys.
Old 03-27-2007, 04:49 PM
61A

If you are using what you had mentioned and you are planning to put it in the barrel I would make my hole NO bigger than 1 inch. I would also suggest chaining the barrel to a very thick tree, and make sure there is about 4 feet of play for the bears to move the barrel around, to let them work at getting the food out.

You do not want the bears comming in and grabbing a mouthfull, and moving into the timber to eat. What you want is to have the bears hanging around concentrating on getting out the food. THUS giving you plenty of time to judge your bears, and plenty of time to make your shot.
I hope this helps you out. Feel free to PM me or Katts69, ( my hunting partner) we can help you out with what ever you need.

And as for your tent question, the bigger the better, you want comfort, and room to move around with the 4 of yall. And it is also nice to be able to set up a table when it is just the two of you. Katts can help you out with both the Tent, and the Stove.

G-len
Old 03-27-2007, 05:10 PM
sheep hunter

61A is right...keep the hole small so the bears really have to work at getting food out. It keeps them around longer plus it prevents them from cleaning out your barrels too fast.
Old 03-27-2007, 05:23 PM
shotgun

I am sure that everybody has a recipe of their own but I would love to hear some ingredients that guys use in their baits.

I have even heard of guys using propane as an attractant.
Old 03-27-2007, 09:45 PM
donthaveaclue

Default bears