Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 06-03-2013, 05:38 PM
Banned

Default Cell phone drivers

Just drove less than 2 kms there and back and counted 7 people txting or talking on their cell phones!!!!

They are not hard to spot when they're right beside me....so I'm sure there must have been more.

How many people do you see in a day using their cell phones while driving?

Also....what do you think could be done to catch and fine more offenders?
Old 06-03-2013, 05:40 PM
Gone Fishing

I hear ya man!! It is starting to really tick me off when I see these dip sticks flaunting the law as they do.
Old 06-03-2013, 06:12 PM

So your focused on what people in the car next to you are doing? I'm not trying to give you a hard time, but sounds like your paying as much attention to the road as the phone junkies?
Old 06-03-2013, 06:17 PM

I remember a while back there was a cop in BC that dressed up like a bum with a sign that said "I'm a police officer, just checking to see if you're texting while driving". He caught some ridiculous number of people stopped at a red light, then his buddies would pull them over when traffic started moving again.

I bet you that would work all year round and every day of the week.

It'd sure catch me
Old 06-03-2013, 06:26 PM

Yeah, the Distracted Driving Law is a joke because it's not enforced.
Old 06-03-2013, 06:28 PM

they had a sting like that in leduc by the info center last year, lady cop in a city work truck parked in the median, looked like they were just doing work or waiting but when i drove past she had a radio and was telling about 10 cops in by safeway/zambellies parking lot who was on phones or had seatbelts off, it was a busy parking lot
Old 06-03-2013, 06:31 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooseknuckle View Post