Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 09-11-2018, 04:31 AM

Default How to Catch Sockeye

The Fraser River Sockeye run has been opened to recreational and commercial harvest this year, 2018. My other boat is out of commission so I have been going out on my 16 foot aluminum Spectrum. It works fairly well out in this area, just have to watch out for the winds picking up and head in before it gets too messy out there. I fish four rods and stack dummy flasher below my rods. Check out my set up in the video. I go through everything in detail at the beginning. I am no expert by any means. This was from my third time out this year. Since then I have been out 6 more times and I think I have been getting better every time out with how to handle the fish on the line and even learning the sockeye flop. Thanks to all the help I got online. It really was a game changer for me out there.

The fishery is still open for now and there are still guys getting their limits of nice fish. So if you want to hit it come on down, because it doesn't happen for another four years.

https://youtu.be/vQ90NgzSqzs

The Fishing Doctors Adventures - You May Watch More Than You Bargained For, haha!
https://www.youtube.com/TheFishingDoctorsAdventures
Old 09-11-2018, 08:08 AM

awesome vid, looks like alot of fun out there
Old 09-11-2018, 12:25 PM

Brandon, thanks for posting this. I've read about the technique but seeing the video really helps. To summarize:

- You have the 3 part flasher at the ball
- One more dummy single flasher about 5 ft from the ball
- Then the rod line, with flasher in-line, about another 5 ft up from the single dummy

60-70 feet down and bob's your uncle

I'm sure taking the motor out of gear would be bad for the follow-up tangle-fest so it looks to me like you kept some momentum going to prevent that.

Looks like all rods caught to and you did lose a lot. That was impressive to see you fighting 2 at once. Good work!