Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 09-03-2018, 07:52 AM

Default Wall Tent Winter Setup

First off, I'm brand new to wall tents so don't hesitate to flood me with info or provide suggestions regarding any of the choices I've made/am considering. Second, I'm not a hunter (though I am considering getting into it) - please don't hold that against me.

The fiance and I just ordered a 10x12 wall tent (deluxe version with the rear door replaced by a window) with 5' awning and stove from Deluxe Wall Tents. We're on Vancouver Island so the proximity made sense for us and Beau has been great to deal with. We're considering up-sizing to a 10x15 for when we have kids but I think it would be nice to keep it smaller and lighter for the two of us for now and get a larger tent when we have more of us? We'll be using the tent primarily for setting up in the mountains for sled-accessed skiing and for weekends when we're at a resort we'll set up in the parking lot for 2-3 nights. I've done a bunch of research but haven't been able to find a lot of information regarding setting the tent up on TOP of deep snow (our snow pack here is wet, heavy and deep - I'm not shoveling 10'+ down to ground). I WILL be using a tarp - having spoken with manufacturers, all have recommended it would be useful given our use for the tent. It comes with the tent package, so I'm not worried and if I don't like it, I can always leave it at home. Any tips for guying out the tarp to reduce flap/noise while sleeping? Any recommendations for keeping the tent from sinking into the snow pack when snow is falling? We'll use the sleds and our skis to stamp down an area for the tent and I'm thinking of using 18"x18" pieces of 5/8" ply to provide a "footing" under the tent legs. Any other suggestions?

Ideally, this won't devolve into this thread

http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=85344