Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 01-07-2014, 10:50 AM

Default Non Trophy Sheep

Me and my buddy are going to put in for our draws this year. Im new to sheep hunt but have done my research in to it, were are looking at 3 zones. I have never been up there just looked on maps. What im wondering is we have the priority to get these zones 100%. 442,440,444 Whats the pros and cons of these zones. Is there a website to find population stats?
Thanks Mitch
Old 01-07-2014, 11:08 AM

http://mywildalberta.com/hunting/Hun...t/Default.aspx
Old 01-07-2014, 11:35 AM

ya i know that page, looking more for population charts. Thanks tho
Old 01-07-2014, 12:32 PM

I haven't hunted those zones in particular. But you need to try to not get a non trophy sheep. Very easy animal to find and to hunt. One of the hardest parts is finding a one with out a lamb.
Old 01-07-2014, 01:29 PM

Forget 442, unless you have horses or are looking for more work then you need to do. 444 and 440 are both good and you can reach hunting areas in about a day of leaving your truck. Ewes are easier then rams to find but don't start weighing your meat before you find one. The Wilmore is a big place and there are lots of places to hide. If your looking for an easier hunt 438 or further south may be a better option. If your up for a challenge then either zone would work for you.
Old 01-07-2014, 04:03 PM

Thanks for the info guys, anybody else have much experience in these areas? how much does one weigh when de bone? im debaiting on bring in the bow are they a real spooky animal?
Old 01-07-2014, 04:24 PM