Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 12-22-2009, 08:09 AM

Default Auger Dilemma

I've got a bit of a dilemma, but as I've never used an auger before I need the advice of those who are experienced with them.

I would like to purchase an auger. Ideally, I would like a gas powered auger. That seems a little excessive right now, though.

Is there anywhere in Calgary that rents out well maintained gas powered ice augers?

Barring that, how easy is it to use a manual auger with a drill? Does it require a lot of downward force and/or strength?

Despite that fact that I'm tall, I'm not particularly strong. Add arthritis and injury to that, and making a hole in ice could be a real challenge.

God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the world. Then he made the earth round . . . and laughed.
Old 12-22-2009, 08:37 AM

Default Augers

I don't know about rentals but a power auger is the way to go. It is not too bad this time of year but wait until the end when the ice is 3 feet thick and do your hand drilling. Ask the guys on the board that were hand augering beside us last week and were out of breath and tired out. It was nice when we just came over and a few seconds later they were fishing. Look for a used one on the board or try Kijiji, you may find something there for less.
Old 12-22-2009, 08:39 AM

I use a manual auger all the time. The thing to remember is that the smaller the auger the easier it is to make the hole. I use a 6 inch and find it very easy to use. Also I can still pull a very big fish through the hole. It doesn't take much force to drill the hole and it goes fairly fast.

But I fish mostly Spray lake, and I find I don't usually drill more than 6 holes in a day. If you fish somewhere where you drill significantly more holes I would go with a gas auger. I don't know if you can rent one but I would call the U of Calgary they have alot of outdoor equipment for rent.