Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 08-17-2013, 07:17 PM

Default Fetching Question

I'm looking for a tighter and more consistsnt shot. Currently my field point shoot perfectly but my broadheads are way off. I looked at tuning the arrow rest.

I'm shooting Muzzy four bladed broadheads and I was wondering to what extent should I worry about getting one or two of the blades somewhat indexed to my (3) vains. Should I get helical vains, scrap the Muzzys and get three bladed ones...

What do you guys think?
Old 08-17-2013, 11:19 PM

Default Fletching

Fetching and vains.....I dunno!
Old 08-18-2013, 06:54 AM

Helical fletching can help assuming your not shoot through a whisker biscuit. Have you shot your bow through paper? Is your Arrow spine matched to draw weight? I am by no means an expert on the topic but the little bit of shooting that I do I quickly realized that when broad heads are not grouping well or are flying erratically it was caused by me or the tuning of my bow. In my personal experience when I couldn't get my broad heads to fly nicely, shooting through paper showed me a couple things. One being that my arrow wasn't leaving my bow nice a level and two I was gripping my bow too hard and torqueing it slightly to the side.
Old 08-18-2013, 06:56 AM

Also where are you located? If you are anywhere near Red Deer go to Red Deer archery and talk to Pat. They helped me a lot there and corrected me of more than one bad habit.
Old 08-18-2013, 09:08 AM

I'm shooting through a wbiscuit. It's a 60lbs Quest and shooting Easton ST Excel 340 with 125gr 4 blade Muzzys.
Old 08-18-2013, 09:41 AM

I couldn't get muzzys to fly with the field points either.. my bow is tuned perfectly so I switched to the 3 blade shuttle t black ops and they fly dead on out to 40yds..
other suggestions are steelforce phatheads, rage hypodermics, NAP killzones, magnus buzzcuts all fly dead on with the field points out to 40yds