Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 03-27-2015, 02:49 PM

Default Bull trout help

This is my first year in search of catching a bull trout but have no clue where to go. I know those who fish for them usually keep there honey holes secret, but i was wondering if anyone could please at least point me in the right direction in terms of locations. I don't really even know where to start looking. Like i said, im not looking for your exact spot, im excited to find my own

Thanks
Old 03-27-2015, 02:55 PM

Fernie
Old 03-27-2015, 03:14 PM

A couple suggestions...

I have caught lots using a spinners and rapalas so streamers and flies should work good too. Use big presentations cause bulls have good appetites.

The Red deer river upstream of gennifer lake and dam.
Clearwater river by Rocky Mtn. House.

Get them before they shed their horns.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bulltrout 1.jpg (10.7 KB, 425 views)
File Type: jpg bulltrout 2.jpg (12.7 KB, 377 views)
It is when you walk alone in nature that you discover your strengths and weaknesses. ~ Red Bullets
Old 03-27-2015, 03:55 PM

A great place to catch a bull trout is Kananaskis lakes, there are many over the current provincial record in there too.
Old 03-27-2015, 08:42 PM

Many over the record? Man I need to catch different ones. Not seeing many over 8lb let alone 17lb. How long are these 15lb + fish?
Old 03-27-2015, 08:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamonddave View Post
Fernie
^^^^^For sure^^^^^^

Don't stop in Alberta- Go directly to the Wigwam.
Old 03-27-2015, 09:18 PM

fish some of the bigger freestone rivers for cutthroat. When a cuttie gets stolen off the end of your line, throw on a 6" streamer and swing it through the hole

instagram: @schrodo_of_the_shire
Old 03-27-2015, 10:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldscud View Post
Many over the record? Man I need to catch different ones. Not seeing many over 8lb let alone 17lb. How long are these 15lb + fish?