Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 12-12-2012, 09:14 AM

Default Fly Fishing Rod and Reel

I am new to fly fishing, and am thinking of picking up a setup for next year. I have been out a few times with a friends rod and liked it, so thought I would continue with it.

I am new to it, and have no idea where to start. What brands should I be looking at? Anyone have any recommendations for a newbie?

Budget is max 300 for both the rod and reel, but would prefer it ~$200.
Old 12-12-2012, 09:44 AM

do a search on this site and the new Flyfishing forum. this subject has been gone over numerous times.

my suggestion would be a TFO rod, 5 wt if you want to stay under $200. they are good rods for the money.

Rgds
Mike
Old 12-12-2012, 09:48 AM

I agree... the TFO rods are a good bargain.
Old 12-12-2012, 09:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeym View Post
do a search on this site and the new Flyfishing forum. this subject has been gone over numerous times.

my suggestion would be a TFO rod, 5 wt if you want to stay under $200. they are good rods for the money.

Rgds
Mike
I did not realize there was a fly fishing forum, I already did a quick search, but didnt find anything within a couple pages, might have been too broad a search. Thanks.
Old 12-12-2012, 10:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by -relk- View Post
I did not realize there was a fly fishing forum, I already did a quick search, but didnt find anything within a couple pages, might have been too broad a search. Thanks.
http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=101
Old 12-12-2012, 01:01 PM

Quote:
I am new to fly fishing, and am thinking of picking up a setup for next year. I have been out a few times with a friends rod and liked it, so thought I would continue with it.

I am new to it, and have no idea where to start. What brands should I be looking at? Anyone have any recommendations for a newbie?

How many times a year do you think that you will go?