Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 10-15-2008, 01:27 PM
barry01

Default Cleaning rifle barrels

Recently after cleaning my .270 with butchs bore shine, and having the patch come out clean with no blue on it; I looked down the muzzle and I could still see copper on the rifling. I have heard mixed things about butches, some say only keep it in the barrel for 15 minutes max, others say overnight is fine. I was just wondering what the more experinced shooters here think, is the copper that I can see from the muzzle not an issue, or do I need to soak the barrel in a copper solvent for a longer period of time. Can someone maybe recommend a more aggressive approach, but something that won't wreck the barrel.

Thanks!
Old 10-15-2008, 02:37 PM

This is a tough one. I'm no expert, but even the experts vary in opinion. I use that product as well, with no issue, but i also use Gun Juice (Microlon) after i clean. This makes your next cleanings much easier.

With your case, you should have your gunsmith view your barrel with a bore scope and get his opinion. It will cost nothing, or next to nothing. If you don't have time for that, some guys use Barnes CR-10 to get out copper. It is definitely more aggressive than Butch's, so you don't want to use it all the time, but it works! I know a certified Sniper instructor that uses it on his rifle (i've seen it), so i don't think it will wreck anything. He only leaves it wet for maybe 5 minutes at a time or so.

Every barrel seems to have its own personality.
Old 10-15-2008, 03:43 PM

Default cleaning

I have tried Buthches with very poor results, the 2 bore cleaner I like best are Sweets 7.62 or Montana Extreme Bore Cleaner these remove all the copper with very little effort.
Old 10-15-2008, 05:24 PM

Try some Wipe Out foaming brushless bore cleaner.

Although Butchers, Barnes and Sweets are good products, Wipe Out simply surpasses them by such a margin it is ridiculous.