Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 12-19-2010, 01:58 PM

Question 406 Elk Bowhunt

Hey all.

I'm fairly new to Alberta, only 8 or so months now. I live in Turner Valley. I've been thinking about doing a backpack elk bowhunt next fall. I've been elk hunting once before in MB, and this fall I went out west of Turner Valley to practice calling elk - which went well, BTW. Anyways, being fairly close to the 406 unit I thought it may be a good area to apply for a draw.

I've tried to do some searching on this site but it seems info is scarce. The few things I've read say that there are some elk in there, but they can be challenging to find. I don't mind walking at all, I actually love to explore. I'm looking for some pointers about where to start, as it is a fairly large area. I've heard of some guys packing horses into Rock Creek area.

I was thinking of scouting up in that area, maybe Volcano Creek. I know that the Bluerock Wildland and Sheep River PP are in the area, and as I understand those are off limits to hunting, yes?

Any pointers to help me in the right direction would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

-Sean
Old 12-19-2010, 02:05 PM
sheephunter

The actual archery season in 406 spans only two weeks and are not the best calling weeks IMHO so after that you'd be competing with the rifle hunters. You don't have to draw for the archery season but you would have to if you wanted to hunt after that. Lots of elk in 406, especially for someone willing to put some miles on.
Old 12-19-2010, 03:56 PM

definatley some good elk to be had there , just like SH said if your willing to put on some miles you will find what your looking for !!
Old 12-20-2010, 01:23 AM
Banned