Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 03-23-2013, 03:07 PM

Default Do You Guys Worry About Lead Poisoning?

I've been shooting for close to 2 months now; about 50 rounds/week at Calgary Shooting Center. The first time I went in, the range officer warned me to wash my hands after shooting. So I figured sure. After I got home I'd always wash with soap and water before eating.

Today I took enough interest in lead poisoning to Google it. Scary **** There's guys warning you to change your clothes and wear different shoes at the range. To be careful that your range bag doesn't contact eating surfaces. To worry about tracking lead dust across your carpet and all manner of crazy stuff.

I've been shooting with the same leather jacket, clothes, and shoes that I wear everywhere. I'm young yet, and I might even reproduce. If I'm going to develop good habits for shooting then now would be the time. What do you guys think about it?
Old 03-23-2013, 04:15 PM

Ever chewed on a lead pencil when you were in school? Probably stuck your fingers in your mouth after too. Lead exposure has toxic effects if you get enough of it but it's pretty hard to get to a dangerous level from reloading or shooting, it's way far down on the list compared to other things that are more harmful to us that we are exposed to everyday of our lives, car exhaust in city traffic, stuff you sprayed down your shower to clean it, the crap in all the processed food we eat is far worse than the almost non existent amount of lead you may be exposed to shooting or reloading. The stuff you clean your gun with is far more hazardous than the lead you just shot through it, etc, etc. As long as your not seasoning your steak with a couple ounces of number 9 lead birdshot you'll probably be fine.
Old 03-23-2013, 04:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushrat View Post