Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 03-27-2011, 01:38 PM

Default Shooting Technique

Hey Everyone,

While I've been going to different shops and "kicking tires" of new rifles (holding them, inspecting them, etc), I have found that When I shoulder a rifle, I do not get a full field of view in the scope (on rifles that have a scope on them already). Now, I am nearly positive this is because of my poor technique, as I have little experience shooting. I have shot a half dozen rifles, probably three of four shots each, and I spent a day shooting .22's, probably 300 rounds, and I did fairly well with the .22's. But I am wondering what technique you guys use: where you anchor, etc. I have my cheek on the plate, and the butt of the stock right on my shoulder. It fits great, but I just can't get a good view in the scope. Just looking for some feedback, thanks for any responses!

-Jeff.

PS, in regards to my "First Rifle" thread, I have decided (after reading hundreds of reviews) to go with a Savage Edge XP in .30-06, once the funds are resting in my bank account I'll head over to P & D to pick it up Thanks for all of the help in that department!
Old 03-27-2011, 01:43 PM

you have to ajust the scope to your self when you get your rifle loosen the rings and get some one to slide the scope back and forth and keep your head where you want it when you can see thruogh the scope properly tighten the ring up

Last edited by Lonnie; 03-27-2011 at 01:56 PM.
Old 03-27-2011, 01:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonnie View Post
you have to ajust the scope to your self
There's something I left out of the post. Are scopes adjustable vertically? Will that affect any performance of the gun, ie cycling the bolt? And would I be able to do that kind of thing, or would I have to go to a smith, or would the shop im buying from be able to do that?

Thanks!

-Jeff
Old 03-27-2011, 01:52 PM