Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 01-03-2017, 06:14 PM
Banned

Default Shoveling side walks

I think shoveling sidewalks has become a lost art, seems like 2/3 of the people on my street must have broken backs or shovels or both. Watched one almost eat it when they slipped on their 6" lumpy, bumpy, man made glacier, man are people gettin lazy.
Old 01-03-2017, 06:46 PM
Banned

I think that shoveling snow off your sidewalks and driveways is a huge waste of time and energy. I should know, because I have been doing it for more then 50 years on a regular basis. That said, I make sure that all my sidewalks and driveways are kept clean, and snow piled out of the way. I agree with OP about how lazy and inept some people are about shoveling their walks and driveways.
P.S, I love using the air blowers to do the walks and vehicles. Really does a nice job.
Old 01-03-2017, 06:50 PM
Banned

I know where you're coming from.
Not to turn this into another 'bash the young people', but at 62 I shovel my walk (and the widow ladies next door) before and after work, if necessary.
The house on the other side of mine is a rental and home to five 20 somethings...all pretty fit looking and they shovel their walk twice a winter, if that.
Old 01-03-2017, 06:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterninja View Post
I think that shoveling snow off your sidewalks and driveways is a huge waste of time and energy. I should know, because I have been doing it for more then 50 years on a regular basis. That said, I make sure that all my sidewalks and driveways are kept clean, and snow piled out of the way. I agree with OP about how lazy and inept some people are about shoveling their walks and driveways.
P.S, I love using the air blowers to do the walks and vehicles. Really does a nice job.
I hear ya shovelling is a big waste of time. That's why I get my daughters to do it. I call it character building.
Old 01-03-2017, 07:16 PM