Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-09-2022, 04:18 PM

Default Target camera...

I am looking for input for a simple target camera system for long range shooting with my 22LR. I am shooting past 625 yards now and can no longer see the impacts on the steel plate or hear them unless the light or wind is just right. I was thinking about using a cellular trail camera but I have zero experience with them. Would a 40 grain 22LR bullet flying past the trail camera be enough motion to trigger it to take a picture of the target? Does anyone have any better solutions for a target camera for this application. Thanks for any input you can provide...
Old 11-09-2022, 05:12 PM

I have seen guys use two cell cameras on Face time, and O owned a Bullseye target cam .
625 yards for a 22LR is pretty extreme, what short of groups are you getting at that range?
As far as trail cams go. Yes 22LR would morre than likely show up on one.
Cat
Old 11-09-2022, 06:15 PM

Hi Cat, thanks for the reply. How did you like the Bullseye camera system? My CZ457 really likes Eley Sport, last time out it averaged 9 of 10 rounds in a 17 inch circle with one sometimes dropping off the target (I presume) at 602 yards. Still experimenting with many variables but I find myself wasting more time looking for hits rather than shooting when I get over 600 yards. I will either find some sort of camera system that works or just stick to working on groups at 350 yards or so where I can see the hits in my spotting scope.
Old 11-09-2022, 06:43 PM

I use an LR3 Long Range camera system. It uses a camera that transmits to the unit you have at the shooting position. I’ve used it out as far as 1900m with great results. With the caveat that the terrain must be suitable (line of sight between the two units) for it to be reliable. The manual says that with the proper terrain, it will work up to 2 miles. I use it on every trip to the Edson range.