Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 02-24-2013, 11:56 PM

Default educate me on "fish finders"

looking at picking up a new fish finder this spring. I have only every bought the 100-200$ basic models. Looking at spending under 800$ this go around.

Whats the difference between GPS and Sonar?

I fish 90% of my time for big pike. So I like the idea of being able to tell the where in the water column the warm water meets cold water. It looks like this is only available in GPS units.

I have never used side scanning units before. Would this be helpful when casting for pike on drop offs, weed lines etc?

Ideally I would like a through the hull mount. Does this change whats available to me?

What else do I need to know?

Whats the difference between a 400$ unit and a 800$ unit?
Old 02-25-2013, 12:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LacLaBicheNS View Post
Whats the difference between a 400$ unit and a 800$ unit?
Well I'm going to get in on this before some other smart guy does.

Answer is about $400
That is all, carry on.

Either get busy living, or get busy dying!
Old 02-25-2013, 01:58 AM

HDS 5 is in your price range.
Sonar is the "fish finder" which allows you to see your depth and fish
GPS is Global Positioning that allows you to see where you are. Much like whats in one for a car.

Most units will help you identify the thermocline but will not tell you the temperature other than at the surface through the transducer.

The HDS 5 is side scan capable with the addition of LSS2 for about 6
$600.00 - $700.00. You can add that when budget allows.

Side scan would be better with transom mount
Old 02-25-2013, 02:00 AM

Also if you do a search there are lots of threads with alot of info.
Old 02-25-2013, 04:44 AM

Humminbird 597di
Around $600 at Bass Pro
I've been looking for a bit too and it's my 1st choice.
Old 02-25-2013, 05:55 AM