Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 12-27-2009, 09:47 PM

Default quick question

Hello
I have a stupid question. I'm new to this hunting thing and I'm trying to figure out Calibers and why they are named the way they are. Could someone please explain what the difference is between a 17, 204, 22 - 250, 223, 25.06 etc (i've always just heard of a 22) and what would be best for gophers to coyotes... thanks

Any rifle suggestions and info would be great aswell.... i have trouble getting answers from gun retalors..... I dont mind spending the money for something good..... Thanks again
Old 12-27-2009, 11:42 PM

Hookay then, here goes ( as good as I can get it anyway!)
In the old days of black powder, the first number was usually the caliber IE. 40/65 , and the second would be the charge of black powder , in this case, 65 grains.
When you had three numbers, , such as 45/110/2 7/8, the last number would be the case LENGTH.
NOW, with the advent of new cartridges, things went wonky.
The 30/3- for example , was a 30 grain charge pf SMOKELESS powder.
BUT, your 22/250 has nothing to do with the powder, but that fact that it is a 22 caliber bullet with a 250 savage case that is necked down.

The 25/06 is a cartridge with a 25 caliber bullet necked down from the 30'06 case.

the 17HMR stands for 17 caliber Hornady rimfire, NOT to be confused with other rimmed 17's, or the 17 Remington, which is a center fire cartridge!

the .223 Remington is a case that was actually designed for military use - the 5.56 Nato, and Remington and hung their moniker on it. it uses a .22 caliber bullet, but is center fire primed.

Same as the 7.62 Nato, a 30 caliber cartridge that Winchester grabbed and called the 308 Winchester.
There are dozens more , and most of them can be confusing at times.
the 270WSM and the 270 Winchester take the sane caliber bullet , but one is a short beltless magnum, and the other is a standard sized case from tue 30'06.