Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 03-14-2017, 08:55 PM

Default Need tips for rising fish on Bow

Hello all,

I only have one summer of fly fishing under my belt so i'm still a beginner and I was hoping someone could give me some tips on how to target rising fish.

I was out on the Bow River today for my first time this winter/spring and surprisingly to me I was surrounded by fish. It appeared to me like they were smashing nymphs rising to the surface. I was drifting nymphs as I usually do, but had no luck and didnt have much time to try different things. I was using generic nymphs such as a prince nymph.

Can anyone give me any advice for what flys to use and how to use them in this situation?

My first thought after going home was that I may have had luck with a small midge pattern and focused on the end of my drift where the fly rises to the surface. Or perhaps a use fly that floats in the surface film?

Any help would be appreciated as it was painful having fish jumping at my feet with no luck catching them.

Thanks!
Old 03-14-2017, 09:53 PM

for fly selection make sure the fly is the right size, personally I think fly size is more important than fly color.
and when presenting the fly to the fish do your best to make sure the fish sees the fly before it sees your leader, they can shut down pretty quick if you leader spook them.

Practice practice, practice, and do so away from the river. over the years I have spent many hours practicing casting on the lawn. IMO it's better to practice away from the river because you are not distracted by trying to catch a fish.
Old 03-14-2017, 11:35 PM

Smile Good advice

I agree that size counts a lot. Careful wading and even more care presentation (this is my grandfather speaking). When I was just starting out I'd cast for the "ring" the fish made when he broke the surface. After many days like yours, I began to cast well up stream from where the fish was surfacing.