Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 07-24-2016, 01:55 PM

Default Moose rut

Sorry one more question, I have been shooting my bow for a few years now, but this is the first year I will be hunting with it. Just wondering if shooting from a tree stand will affect the accuracy of my sights. Because I will be shooting downward if I need to re sight my bow from my tree stand?

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 07-24-2016, 03:03 PM

In short yes. No one can tell you how much to be exactly sure. I'd recommend that you set up a target at different distances and shoot from your tree stand so you can get an idea. Plus practice in awkward positions. I find that very seldom in the hunting world do you get to use your target form. (Sitting, kneeling, feet facing target, ect).

Happy hunting
Old 07-24-2016, 06:38 PM

Accuracy, no. Point of impact, yes. Think of pythagoras theorem. If a is the height of your stand, c will be your line of sight distance, and b will be your true horizontal distance. The true horizontal distance is the one we concern ourselves with since it is the actual distance that the force of gravity has to act on the arrow, and therfore it is the distance you should be aiming for, not the line of sight distance.

So, for an example. You are shooting from 24 feet high ( 20 feet high siting and shooting), which is 8 yards, and he is walking in a draw which is 21 feet deep (7 yards). This elevation difference is 15 yards, and will represent A in pythagoras theorem. A deer comes out 35 yards away, according to the range finder. This will be C in pythagoras theorem. So according to the math, B should be about 31 yards, which represents the true distance balistically to the target