Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 09-13-2018, 06:14 PM

Default to Bed or not to Bed?

I am far from an expert in this area but have done some reading on the subject and opinions are all over the map.

Although most agree bedding a action (rifle) improves the characteristics of a rifle to allow it to become more accurate (if done properly), there are different opinions on how to do it and what you should use .....

Forgive me if these questions are stupid - but I'd appreciate your thoughts...

Rifle is a newly purchased used Remington 700 BDL wood stock in .30-06. Rifle is older generation (according to serial number maybe from the 80's) is it worth bedding?

What type of bedding process would this rifle benefit from? Considering the value to "payback" on what you should expect to achieve.

Pillar, the type of compound (and why) are important for me to understand.

And people's experiences with a wooden stock on a skinny barrelled 700 BDL specifically - I'd be interesting to hear results both good and bad.
Old 09-13-2018, 06:28 PM

Bumping an old thread ...pillar bedding. EDIT ADD: Pillars can be purchased or “made”. If you want the top of the sleeve contoured, you pretty much need to purchase. I bought a couple of sets from Bashaw Sports. One set was “adjustable” and the other required the bottom to be trimmed. I have heard of the threaded extensions used in light fixtures also work well when cut to length.

Last edited by 260 Rem; 09-13-2018 at 06:37 PM.
Old 09-13-2018, 06:46 PM

Sounds like you want a project so I won’t go down the “shoot it first to see if it might benefit from bedding” line. I am certainly no expert at bedding but willing to contribute “what I think”.
First, the reason to pillar bed a wood stock is to resist compressing the wood when tightening guard screws. If compression is occuring, it can alter the torque as temperature changes, resulting in changes to POI.