Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 10-28-2013, 11:43 AM

Default General advice for shore fishing rivers and ponds

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster, occasional fisher. First just want to say thanks for all the great info, awesome community!

I live in NW Calgary and occasionally “attempt” fishing, mostly spin type but also received fly gear that I’m hoping to wield next season. I’ve searched and read all the typical and over posted threads about fishing spots relatively close by and actually took the time to go out to try and explore some, imagine that! Did well at PCR a few times, and even got the eyes to strike without bait . However, anywhere else I get skunked like Dewitts, the Bow (all sorts of locations including the flats down south), Grotto, Chestermere, and most recently last Saturday morning at Winchell. Only could escape to Winchell for about 3 hours though.

(side note, as I’m just starting out and don’t exactly have all the nice gear like waiders and boots, boat or a truck. Winchell was a wakeup call haha. When they say “unmaintained road enter at own risk” I thought my little sedan would not come out of that pinball machine lol, and then the crazy swamp around the lake….not quite what I was expecting from the previous shore fishing spots, mental note: rubber boots next time!)

Long story short, it has become quite apparent that I’m a terrible fisherman and don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to anywhere that is not PCR where they basically jump out at you, and at Winchell everyone else seemed to snag a couple. I don’t mind where nobody else isn’t getting bites but I seemed to be the exception. I have to check the regs as October is ending and then things will start to freeze up, but I was still planning on hitting places I haven’t tried yet like Carburn park, Glenmore and Clearwater, and if not this season then in Spring some areas in Kananaskis.