Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 02-10-2013, 07:07 PM

Default Nakamun today

was out at Nakamun today from 9am until sundown. There were perch on the screen all day long but nothing was biting. I started with a small yellow jig with maggots and I worked through every conceivable presentation in my tacklebox. I even tried minnow heads thinking that maybe they've quit feeding on bugs and have switched to minnows but no dice. Having exhausted every color, lure configuration and bait I had available, I'm out of ideas. I'm still new at perch fishing. Is this something that just happens as winter goes on or is there something about perch behavior that could shed some light on all of this?
Old 02-10-2013, 07:17 PM

I was at Nakamun today myself and had a great day, tons on the camera, lots of bites, took home a few nice 9-10 inchers to fry for supper. used a yeliow or green jims jig the small grub kind with maggots. I find if you cant get them to bite, try going smaller and smaller on your jigs. Also I find if they seem interested if you just raise the jig slow and let it drop back down you can get a bite or 2.
Old 02-10-2013, 07:19 PM

As a side not, as the season drags on and the oxygen levels start to drop so does the fish aggression. but they seemed fairly active to me.
Old 02-10-2013, 07:42 PM
Banned

I was out there on Thursday and I caught a dozen over 8" in a little over an hour (I even had a double header). I went there today and in an hour and a half I caught 2 little guys that went back in. The bites that I got were very light. It happens sometimes I guess.
Old 02-10-2013, 10:07 PM

If I get wheels under me this week we can go out there again and I'll show ya how it's done

Time, it makes you old. Experience makes you wise. It's only a fool who judges life by what he sees in other peoples' eyes.
- Strung Out

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.
- Douglas Adams