Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 09-14-2006, 03:06 PM
kelly

Default Mountain Pine Beetle

Don't know if any of you trappers are in the know about mountain pine beetle and the potential impacts this little pest will have on us as trappers, hunters and those who make a living in the forest industry? All you have to do to get a bit of background is take a drive through BC to see the impacts this little beastie can have if left unchecked. Estimates are that by 2013 - 80% of all the pine in BC will be attacked and/or dead and to salvage that before the wood is wasted you may have 4 or 5 years - that is millions of m3 of wood lost and a huge impact on jobs, communities and the forest environment as we know it today.
I have trapped most of my life and presently own an upper foothills line - I am also a forest manager (25 years) so am senitive to both sides of this issue. Right now the industry and government are working on control and response plans to either stop or slow the influx of the beetles or in a worse case scenario - react to outbreaks. Either way the beetle is here with large numbers of beetle killed trees in the Berland, Grande Cache and Grande Prairie areas (raining beetles in Grande Prairie this summer). There are also more showing up in the Canmore area and south.
I would advise any and all trappers to contact their local forest service office and timber company to get included in the decision making or at least in the information distribution of plans they may have to counter the influx of the beetles.
Old 09-17-2006, 03:54 PM
Chung

Just an FYI, it has been confirmed in Fox Creek and poterntially in Swan Hills area.
Old 10-10-2006, 05:52 PM
GoldFever69

Howdie