Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 03-27-2015, 01:41 PM

Default String Wax

Hey guys I'm new at owning a bow,I have a few questions what kind of wax should a guy use,how often,and proper application technics

Thanks in advance
Old 03-27-2015, 02:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddjler View Post
Hey guys I'm new at owning a bow,I have a few questions what kind of wax should a guy use,how often,and proper application technics

Thanks in advance
Get a good quaility...most are ...some are better for newer strings like Bohning Excellerator Wax...come in small lipstick type tube lasts for a year or so...fits in pack nice....

Wax often cheap insurance...actualy adds speed to bow...conditions strings ..helps in strings NOT drying out and geting "fuzzy"

Its cheap, wax often...once a week if using...the more you use bow the more you wax...wax before storing

Cheapest insurance for bow and strings not breaking due to wear...

Work in good with fingers until you feel warmth..and wax works deep into strings...I use a piece of very smooth tooling leather until warm and it works in...some say not to use leather....but wax is hard to come off fingers in the field...

Wax everywhere including serving if you wish...just be CAREFUL NOT to wax anywhere strings/Cables/ servings run in idler wheels/ cams/or roller guards

http://www.bohning.com/xccelerator-wax

Neil
Old 03-27-2015, 05:09 PM

Thanks for the heads up I have all ready purchased a tube of bohning seal tite I'll use this after every shoot

Last edited by toddjler; 03-27-2015 at 05:20 PM.
Old 03-27-2015, 09:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddjler View Post
Thanks for the heads up I have all ready purchased a tube of bohning seal tite I'll use this after every shoot