Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 07-17-2011, 12:26 AM

Default Your favourite fishing spot?

I am a newbie so I've only been to Travers and Red Deer River near a small town in Drumheller. I like Travers, lot of Walleyes. It's just the barbed wired fences and signs a little intimidating to me, especially at midnight!

You?
Old 07-17-2011, 12:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LynchC View Post
I am a newbie so I've only been to Travers and Red Deer River near a small town in Drumheller. I like Travers, lot of Walleyes. It's just the barbed wired fences and signs a little intimidating to me, especially at midnight!

You?
Freeman river, a long ways away from a bridge, peaceful with decent grayling
Old 07-17-2011, 01:37 AM
Gone Hunting

My favourite fishing hole is Paulette Bay on the south shore of Great Slave Lake about eighty miles east of Hay River.

Over the years I have had a number of favourites.
The south and North ends of Coal Lake near Wetaskiwin.
The Ram River from the falls to Hummingbird Creek.
The mouth of the Buffalo River south of Tompkins Ferry.
The Wolvarine River at Carcajou.
The mouth of the Notikewin River at Notikewin Park.
Grayling Creek on the Chinchaga Forestry road west of Manning
And others.

Most are no longer good fishing but Paulette Bay still provides great fishing at the right time of year. So it is now my favourite place to go, when I can.
Old 07-17-2011, 01:43 AM

Easy answer-Columbia River Oregon
Old 07-17-2011, 02:12 AM

No one will share their particular favourite spots especially with a newbie Judt fish a little bit more and you will find some nice spots for sure
Old 07-17-2011, 06:51 AM

Lots of good fly rivers and creeks in S. Alberta...I prefer the ones where I can get away from the mobs, and spend the day hooking into a few trout. They don't have to be gigantic (that's a bonus)...I'm happy with a bunch of 6-8 inch cutties in a small, subalpine stream.