Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 05-13-2009, 10:26 PM

Talking First time bow hunting

Hello people. I am going to purchase a bow this year and. I need your help what bow should I buy. My freinds have a bowtech bow and they love it but I also have been told mathews is the best but to much $$$$ I understand you buy a cheap bow you get what you payed for, but this is my first time bow hunting and I don't want to spend thousands of dollars on one. I will be using the bow for deer and elk so your advise will be great Thanks again

P.S also need advise on brod heads and arrows
Old 05-14-2009, 05:03 AM
river_runner

whatever you buy dont dryfire your bow .
Old 05-14-2009, 09:31 AM
Hoochie Papa

Quote:
Originally Posted by river_runner View Post
whatever you buy dont dryfire your bow .
Well, that pretty much answered all his questions.

JP, just about any bow you buy nowadays will easily kill anything we have in Canada......as long as you put the arrow in the right spot.
The trick is stay in your budget, but not go so cheap that you need to upgrade next year.
Bowtech is a top quality bow, and you won't regret getting one. The Bowtech Tomkat comes in a nice affordable package.( includes rest, sights, quiver) Quite a few guys on here shoot one in fact. Thy have a great warranty as well, and it is a bow you will shoot for th next ten years.
As for arrows, I go cheap. Carbon Express, or the like. The 0.001 difference in straightness for the extra money doesn't mean much hunting when my arrow is only going 30 yards.
Broadheads is a real personal choice. Lots of guys like expandables, others prefer cut on impact. I am in the group of the latter. Montec G5 is my choice. They fly straight, hit hard, and cut deep. (From my bow)
Hope his helps.
Old 05-14-2009, 09:51 AM