Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 12-28-2015, 04:07 PM

Question Linesman

Anyone work as a linesman or have any info about the trade?

I'm a third year electrician and thinking of making the switch. Noticed that A company called Altalink was hiring apprentices at an entry level and wondering what the wages would be like starting out. Trying to figure out what kind of a wage cut I would be looking at. I know in the long term you would make more than a regular electrician.
Old 12-28-2015, 06:03 PM

My brothers a linesman. I don't know what the apprentice wages are. But they are very stable compared to other sectors. My brother worked for a Hello in hawaii for 10 years. He does contract work on transmission lines in canada now. Its a good trade. And the work is steady through boom and bust.
brad
Old 12-28-2015, 07:47 PM

My brother is a linesman too.
As far as I can tell, he makes more money than he knows what to do with.
Atco just laid off about 300 people, and it sounds like the cut backs were mostly in the line construction end of things. So there might be a surplus of linesmen out there without work right now.
Old 12-28-2015, 08:20 PM

Default Linesman

Check out valard Construction

Just a thought

Steve In GP

Old 12-29-2015, 06:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewey Cox View Post
My brother is a linesman too.
As far as I can tell, he makes more money than he knows what to do with.
Atco just laid off about 300 people, and it sounds like the cut backs were mostly in the line construction end of things. So there might be a surplus of linesmen out there without work right now.
^^^
this.....other than the part about too much money.
Possibly BC.... but there probably is a surplus in AB right now.
Old 12-29-2015, 06:10 PM
Banned